PKU.com Community Discussion Forum That’s PKU life! PKU and College Life Reply To: PKU and College Life

Emsilly24

Are you living away at the college or do you commute just for the day?

I have been living away in dorms at college for three years now (even with a semester living in dorms at a university in Ireland) and I will be a senior in september, so I have lots of experience with PKU at college.  I am on the Camino Pro system for formula, which is AMAZING at school (I'm not sure where you are, but I think it's only available in the US and Australia).  The pina colada and fruit punch juice pouches are total convenience- I just grab two to drink in between classes during the day.  The BetterMilk is a powder to be mixed with water, so in my dorm room I drink one of those with breakfast and one at night after dinner, and it's perfect for me to get my 60 grams spread throughout my day.

If you want to drink something that you need to mix all throughout the day, try experimenting with premeasuring the powder, putting it in a bottle, taking the bottle along and adding the water when you want to drink from a water fountain or something.  I've done that in the past while traveling and it has worked pretty well.