PKU.com Community Discussion Forum Parent support My daughter is going on a diet Reply To: My daughter is going on a diet

jakesmom

I can only tell you what I know, and I am by no means an expert!

However, I do know as a mom, it was so scary in the beginning, that any bit of information was helpful, so I will my best :)

We are Canadian too, from Ontario. I understand that each province varies in what assistance they provide, as well, it seems each clinic even in the same province varies in theories on what is best.

Let me start by saying, that I am certain we use a different form of counting Jacob was first diagnosed as HyperPhe as well. It wasn't until about a month or so ago that his numbers rose too, and they decided he was Mild PKU and they were going to proceed with a diet. For us, his numbers were staying about 300, however exceeded 600, and they intervened. (this is where the 3 and 10.6 have me a little confused, but I will assume it is just a different way of measuring.. maybe ours is X100 haha..)

Jacob is still younger than your twins, and therefore not on as much food as you will be facing, so that may make it slightly easier for us to make this transition, but its just a guess.

Our dietian is determining his allowed amount of protein and takes all of this into account. I have asked what amt of phe he is allowed, however, I understand it is still in the works, as she tweeks it. We don't have this number. They continue to do weekly blood spots to help her in narrowing the range.