PKU.com Community Discussion Forum New to PKU.com Another newbie here Reply To: Another newbie here

clenk

Congrats! 

First of all- take a deep breath- it will be ok. I spent the first 3 months of my pku child's life reading online every stitch i could find and there is a LOT of information out there. Some of it was awesome and some was depressing. When i felt that there wasn;t anything else I needed to learn I turned to my child to see that they were growing up just fine. 

My pku child will be 2 next month, they are sleeping in their own bed (out of their crib) are totally day/night potty trained, have an amazing vocabulary and can already count to 10 (not perfectly but pretty close!). We had asked to have special education training where we had a therapist come and play with her when she was small and teach us educational games (the fact we had two other children didn't seem to matter- we felt like newbies again!) and they kicked us out of the early intervention programs because she was so advanced. In fact in a recent evaluation she is rated at 3 months above her actual age. 

When she was itty bitty she didn't like anyone- she wouldn't be passed around in church and no one  could even hold her. I assumed that was because she had PKU (as i'd read about social anxieties) and so i encouraged social activities but didn't push them. Just last week she pushed her way around a random janitor (whom i was a bit frightened of) to help him vaccume the hallways.

She is charming and funny and a real joy.