PKU.com Community Discussion Forum New to PKU.com Another newbie here Reply To: Another newbie here

jakesmom

Congrats on the arrival of the new lil one!!

Our son will be two in May. I completely understand being stressed about the lil one, and this being an additional worry. Jacob was born at 28 weeks gestation, and already causing us incredible stress, when the news of PKU was delivered.

Although Jacob is doing extremely well, I cant say we have hit the remarkable milestones that Clenk has achieved (Kudos!!) Jacob is right on track for being a micro premie. In some areas, he is exceeding expectations. PKU has not affected him negatively in this regard.

There was a couple weeks where Jacob didn't seem to learn anything new. His levels returned slightly higher during this time. We were assured by the clinic that they were likely unrelated. They did however adjust his diet to compensate for the increase in levels, and he continued on with development just fine. The paranoid parent in me often wonders if they were related, however, the optomistic side, the blood levels quickly told us, the adjustment was made, and there was no lasting effects….even if it was related. (Hmm, that was meant to not stress you, not saying he was affected, I have been assured he wasnt, but even if it was, they easily intervened and corrected whatever may not have been affecting him) The point of it is to say, you're not alone. The medical teams are wonderful!!

We have two older children (non pku — previous relationship) aged 12 and 13. I cannot count how many times I have said he is just like the oldest…and how she behaved. So, I think  he is doing just fine :)