PKU.com Community Discussion Forum What’s the Phe? Behavior Issues

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    tamara

My 2 year old daughter has elevated phe levels around 4.6 and is not on a special diet. She seems to have alot of built up aggresion, mood swings and unpredictable personality. I have been told this is not a result of her condition. Does anyone else experience this with thier hyper phe child?
    thanks,
    Tam

angelalewis

Of course, I am not a doctor but my daughter’s levels were around 14-18 when we got home from Russia (adopting her) because we did not have access to low protein food and formula. Her behavior was terrible. We quickly got her levels down to 2.7 and she is a totally different child. Her levels were not under control in Russia and they would tell me how stubborn and rebellious she was. She is very pleasant now. I can’t say whether it is the control of the levels or a loving family of her own that changed her behavior.

splshglitter

4.6 is not high. their levels are soppossed to be between 2-6 n4.6 is perfect.

katieluper

my two year old daughter is the same way when her levels are a little out of the norm she starts to act very moody and upset all the time and her doctors say that it could be a result of her levels being to high my daughter is on a diet and sometimes when she is sick and not drinking her formula this happens. I have talked to other kids older than her who say that when they start to get high levels they are the same way i know this will sound wierd but it is almost liek she is pms’ing which is not something i am ready to expierence yet with my two year old maybe in 14 more years.

BreaMarie91