PKU.com Community Discussion Forum New to PKU.com Having Children

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    englum_06

“PKU and the other causes of hyperphenylalaninemia are inherited in a recessive fashion. This means an affected person inherited two traits for the disorder (e.s., one from neach parent). A person with one trait for the disorder, is
    called a ‘carrier’ for PKU. Carriers do not have symptoms of the disorder”
    I know of someone who has been very worried about having children. In this article it seems to say that in order for the child to develop PKU, both parents must be carriers. Is this true or can the child still develop PKU if his or her mother has PKU.
    Im fairly new to the whole PKU, so any information is appreciated.

BreaMarie91

From what my dietian told me your right. I think both parents have to be a carrier (or have PKU) but last time I checked the chances of having PKU was like 1 out of everyone 14,000 babies (am I right? I’m only 15 so I’m not positive.

I am a thirty-four year old mom of a beautiful three year old daughter who does not have PKU like I do. When I was pregnant in 2002 the docotrs all agreed that she would be carrier if she was not born with PKU. They also said that there was a seventy-five percent chance that she could have PKU anyway, even if my husband was not a carrier, because I have it. She was born without PKU and eats enough for both of us! We finally get our moneys worth at a buffet! Hope this helps.

nadine_29

hi! janiekflemming
    i’ve read what you had to say and i was impress to see what i read …i am a 29 year old i was pregant in the year 2000 .when i had to abort my baby because at that time i was not following my diet and the doctors said that my baby was going to be handicap so i had that big dicision to make and it was really painful and still is today cause i want children.
    i was wondering if you could just give me a few advice ?