PKU.com Community Discussion Forum Parent support Is it a red line around meat for pku people ?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    medina2009
    Participant

I mean meat is absolutly forbidden for pku people ? or they can use it but should calculate it's phe .

for example , is it possible for one person with pku ,  not to eat anything for 24 hours, and instead of lunch eat a piece

of chicken or an egg ?

BreaMarie91

I'm not a doctor, but I've always been under the assumption that doing something such as that would not be a good idea. Eating all of your phe for the day at once could spike a phe level and make it drastically increase in a short time. It might not be a good idea to introduce your son to very high phe foods such as meat, because as he gets older he may want to eat more than he is allowed, or he could eat it more often than allowed.

I have never eaten meat, and I have no interest to try it.

medina2009
    Participant

thank you very much Brea . your statement is so logical . I never wanted do this work for him , but I want to know about

this possibility for urgency situations . and I know that it is possible to make so many various foods with egg . I

wanted to make one kind of food with an egg . and he use it for for example six times . the phe of an egg would

pervade .

I certainly agree with Brea. About 30 years ago doctors thought that it was ok to take people off the pku diet which wasn't good at all. I was one of them I ate everything meat, eggs etc but found them hard to digest and use to suffer greatly after eating these products. Chicken, fish and milk didn't excite me much as they taste like nothing and I use to gag.

Time went by and my health deteriorated so much that now I am back on the diet which was the hardest thing I had to do for myself but gradually I did and now I am living a great quality life again.

medina2009
    Participant