PKU.com Community Discussion Forum New to PKU.com New to PKU and just want to say Hi

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Lydi_mom

Hi,
    I just wanted to introduce myself to all of you. I am pretty new to the PKU world. My daughter, Lydia, is 4 months old now and we found out she has PKU when she was 8 days old. I have a 2 year old son also(non pku), and before Lydia was born I never knew what PKU was. nRight now Lydia is being tested every week at the clinic. I’m breastfeeding her and I’m glad we have a nutritionist who is supportive of that because I want her to have at least some of the benefits of breastmilk. Her levels have been varying though (nothing to extreme) probably partly because I am breastfeeding her and it is harder to know exactly how much milk she is getting. If anyone has had experience with breastfeeding a pku baby I would be interested in hearing your story. I’m not sure how long we can continue to do it, but I figure some is better than none.
    I look forward to learning more about PKU and helping Lydia to be healthy. nSusan

Anonymous

lydia. welcome to the PKU world and congrats in ur baby girl!! i just wanted to say hi and introduce myslef. my name is Amanda im 21 and live in victoria BC i have CPKU which means classical. im sorat a pku arwarness avocate. im creating the very first canadain walk a thon , i have a PKU website and i sell PKU t-thirts and writsbands. i wanted to give u the link to my website as i think you would find it useful as it has my personal story about growing up with pku and a jornal recpies etc ect aslo my mom has posted her story about everything that she went though as a young new mom to me. i think you would benifit from hearing her story or even talking to her. also i would love to talk with u further if u wanted to.
    the website is http://pku.bravehost.com/ hope to see u there!

BreaMarie91

Susan,