PKU.com Community Discussion Forum New to PKU.com pku level affecting schoolwork

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    bscherhaufer

I am a special education (504 plan) teacher and have a student with PKU, recently her level was at 18, and they called in hotline report against the mother, her test grades recently have been low. Does anyone know how quickly high pku levels can affect school work?

Tracie_PKU

Hi There, nMy name is Tracie,and back when i was in school
    my parents took me off diet.BIG MISTAKE!!!!
    I could not focus,take tests,or even make and keep friends.
    I would definitly in a loving way speak with her mom,and get her on diet or evaluated from her PKU Dr.
    I graduated,but i’m not proud of my GPA.
    I don’t blame my parents cause back in the 80’s
    the Dr’s thought our brains were fully developed,and would not be affected.
    Needless to say i pay for it now.
    Hopefully i was helpful,anymore questions feel free to ask!!!!
    Tracie-PKU

jenn_harney