PKU.com Community Discussion Forum Adults and PKU Please help on insurance problem!!

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    roland83

Hi everybody,

my name is Roland, 26, patient of PKU from Austria.
    I will be going to a Californian university by the end of the year/start of next year and starting to wonder how/if my diatery supplement will be covered by the insurance company. Since I am from Austria, where the supplement and all low protein food is covered by my insurance company, I don´t have any idea on how to find out which insurance to pick (the University, Caltech, offers 3 different plans, obviously), which covers what, etc.

If anyone of you can help me or know someone to ask I would very much appreciate that!!! Because at the moment it doesnt look that good ;(

Best from Vienna,  Roland

beckyboo
    Participant

Hi I used to work in Insurance, I could try and help, if you let me know what the 3 plans are called I could try to help?! 

I could probably tell you what is covered. I would just need to know the different plans names really!!

Becs 

roland83

Hi Becky,

thanks a lot for your offer to help!

The 3 different plans can be found under this adress: http://cit.hr.caltech.edu/Benefits/med_dental.htm

They are:

Anthem Blue Cross PPO Plan

Anthem Blue Cross HMO Plan

Kaiser Permanente

Thx again for your help! Best from Vienna, Roland

beckyboo
    Participant